Every year, hundreds of new laws take effect as midnight strikes in the
new year in California. These laws range from marijuana sales, to minimum
wage increases, to the price of college education.
The following are some of the new laws that took effect on January 1, 2018:
Marijuana – Adults 21 years of age and older can purchase recreational cannabis
from a licensed dispensary.
Immigration – California is considered a sanctuary state. Several laws have been
passed to limit how much local police can help federal authorities in
detaining undocumented immigrants and make it more difficult for landlords
and business owners to report workers.
Paid Leave – Businesses with 25 employees or fewer are subject to a minimum
wage increase of $10.50, while businesses with 26 or more will experience
an increase of $11. Small businesses with 20 to 49 workers can provide
new parents with 12 weeks of unpaid leave when a new child is born.
Crimes – Drug offenders are no longer subject to having three years added
to their sentence for a repeat offense. Criminals who record their crimes
and release the footage on social media can face additional penalties.
Prisoners who are 60 years of age or older, or who have served a minimum
25 years in prison, can be eligible for parole.
Juvenile Offenders – Juveniles serving life sentences will now be eligible for parole
after at least 25 years in prison. Families of juvenile offenders no longer
have to pay assessment fees. Lastly, juveniles with violent or serious
crimes on their record are eligible for record sealing once the sentence is over.
Guns – Hate crime convicts are prohibited from possessing a firearm for ten years.
School administrators have the power to determine whether workers with
concealed carry permits can bring their weapons.
For more information,
Santa Barbara criminal defense attorneys at
Appel & Morse today.