In an effort to combat and prevent massacres involving firearms in California,
state lawmakers have approved several bills that would reduce the access
to guns of specific individuals. These bills have been sent to Gov. Jerry
Brown’s desk for consideration.
A bill introduced by Assemblywoman Blanca Rubio (D-Baldwin Park) recommended
a lifetime firearm ban on individuals with
domestic violence convictions. There is currently a 10-year probationary period for misdemeanor
domestic violence convicts.
Another bill introduced by Assemblyman Evan Low (D-Campbell) proposed a
lifetime gun ban on individuals who have been court ordered to undergo
involuntary psychiatric treatment twice in one year. Presently, California
imposes a five-year ban for such individuals because they are considered
a risk of harming themselves and others.
SB1100 increases the legal age to buy a rifle or shotgun in the state from
18 years old to age 21. Additionally, the bill would restrict anyone form
purchasing more than one gun within a 30-day period.
AB2103 would require applicants for a concealed-carry permit to receive
a minimum of eight hours of firearm-safety instruction. According to current
law, there is no minimum time standard for concealed-carry applicants.
For more information about gun laws in California,
Santa Barbara criminal defense attorneys at
Appel & Morse today.