Third DUI Offense Charges in California
Do Not Hesitate to Contact Our Santa Barbara DUI Attorneys Today
If you are arrested and charged with a third time DUI in California, you
may be wondering how the penalties are allocated by the court and DMV
different from those after a
second time DUI conviction. It’s imperative to understand that the answer depends
on the specific circumstances of your case. However, it is possible to
have a third time DUI conviction expunged from your permanent criminal
record with the legal assistance of a qualified criminal defense attorney.
Appel & Morse, we understand what it takes to get your charges reduced, your case entirely
dismissed, and your expungement if you are convicted. With
over 30 years of combined experience, our Santa Barbara DUI lawyers possess the comprehensive understanding
of California driving laws and court processes.
Third DUI Penalties
Upon a third DUI conviction, the DMV will suspend the offender’s
driver’s license for up to three years. All DUIs in California are
misdemeanors unless an individual other than the defendant suffers a bodily
injury upon the DUI arrest, there is a fourth DUI within the lookback
period of 10 years, or the defendant has at least one previous felony
DUI conviction on their record.
Criminal penalties for a third DUI include the following:
- Jail sentence between 120 days and one year
- Over $3000 in fines and court fees
- 18-month alcohol program
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) required, if given a restricted license
- Probation between three and five years
Let Us Protect Your Rights and Freedom Today
Santa Barbara criminal defense lawyers, we know what to expect when cases go to trial. In order to develop a
strong and customized defense strategy, we can conduct a thorough investigation,
gather evidence, and analyze evidence collected by police and assess their
arrest procedures. Let us get your life back on the right track.
Contact us and schedule your
free case evaluation today.