Every year, hundreds of new laws take effect as midnight strikes in the new year in California. These laws range from marijuana sales, to minimum wage increases, to the price of college education.
The following are some of the new laws that took effect on January 1, 2018:
- Marijuana – Adults 21 years of age and older can purchase recreational cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
- Immigration – California is considered a sanctuary state. Several laws have been passed to limit how much local police can help federal authorities in detaining undocumented immigrants and make it more difficult for landlords and business owners to report workers.
- Paid Leave – Businesses with 25 employees or fewer are subject to a minimum wage increase of $10.50, while businesses with 26 or more will experience an increase of $11. Small businesses with 20 to 49 workers can provide new parents with 12 weeks of unpaid leave when a new child is born.
- Crimes – Drug offenders are no longer subject to having three years added to their sentence for a repeat offense. Criminals who record their crimes and release the footage on social media can face additional penalties. Prisoners who are 60 years of age or older, or who have served a minimum 25 years in prison, can be eligible for parole.
- Juvenile Offenders – Juveniles serving life sentences will now be eligible for parole after at least 25 years in prison. Families of juvenile offenders no longer have to pay assessment fees. Lastly, juveniles with violent or serious crimes on their record are eligible for record sealing once the sentence is over.
- Guns – Hate crime convicts are prohibited from possessing a firearm for ten years. School administrators have the power to determine whether workers with concealed carry permits can bring their weapons.