A hit and run charge is extremely serious, especially if others involved in the wreck are severely injured or lose their lives. In many cases, drivers who flee accident scenes are tracked down and end up facing worse penalties than they would have if they had remained at the scene of the wreck.
Penalties for a Hit and Run
The penalties for a hit and run accident in California vary depending on whether the incident is categorized as a misdemeanor or felony. The penalties for misdemeanor and felony hit and run convictions in California include the following:
- Misdemeanor Hit and Run – As much as 6 months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and payment of restitution to the victims.
- Felony Hit and Run with Non-Serious Injury – Up to a year in jail, fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000, and payment of restitution to the victims.
- Felony Hit and Run with Serious Injury or Death – From 2 to 4 years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and payment of restitution to the victims.
Anyone charged with a hit and run should seek the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. There are defense strategies that can help lessen the severity of the punishments that drivers charged with a hit and run face.
Charged with a Hit and Run? Our Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help. Contact Us!
At Appel & Morse, our top priority is protecting our clients’ rights and securing the most favorable outcome for their case. Our hit and run lawyers have over 40 years of combined legal experience. In addition, our attorneys are former prosecutors, so they often know what moves the prosecution is going to make before they make them. Our legal team’s in-depth understanding of the law, and history as prosecutors, has enabled us to design defense strategies that have, in some cases, gotten charges against our clients reduced or dropped.
For a free criminal consultation with our experienced hit and run attorneys, call us at (805) 467-6060 or contact us online today. We offer flexible appointment times, including evenings and weekends.